Expectations

So recently I tweeted a tweet

Sometimes I feel that people expect too much outta me… Or maybe it’s just me too tired to meet their expectations

Okay, so ever since school started, I’ve been in a situation where I feel the pressure of people’s expectations for me. And I know that many of you out there have also felt the same way before I guess? It’s really tiring me out mentally. You know, people set expectations of you the moment they meet you. They say first impression counts. You let people set a frame for you, you allow people to expect a certain consistency of the way you behave, and once that is established, you constantly are required to meet expectations of others. Of course, you can choose to not care about what people expect of you, but sometimes you just don’t want to disappoint the other party right? Then again, I am honestly lacking the motivation and determination to do well, to do what people expect me to, and I wish I could run away from everything even for just a day, or just a few hours, minutes, seconds. The sad thing is you know you’ll have to eventually get back to reality and work things out, face the people.

So the problem is, how do we solve this? To be honest, I have no idea. This cycle repeats itself every now and then, and you just get suffocated in this cycle. Learning how to cope could help, but for how long? Maybe people shouldn’t set such high expectations of you, no wait. Maybe you shouldn’t behave the same anymore, be a bad guy, appear rebellious, let people ignore you, and have them focus on other people. Yeah, maybe that might work. But really, that’s just not me, and I don’t want to become someone else just to escape reality. So the bottom line is, we’re back to square one. Congrats.

Evil Laugh

Leave a comment